Kenny’s Kitchen: Zoot’s Tackle (Taco) Salad

Who’s ready for another tailgate meal for the weekend?  I’ve received a few requests for my Taco Salad recipe (“before the football season gets too far” as someone put it) so here it is.  Just in time for another College Gameday, NFL Sunday, Monday Night Football and yes, Taco Tuesday!

Let’s get at it, shall we?

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 pounds Ground Chuck ; (may substitute with ground beef)
  • 15 oz Dark Red Kidney Beans ; (small can, undrained)
  • 15 oz Black Beans (Frijoles) ; (small can, undrained)
  • 15 oz Whole Kernel Corn ; (small can, undrained)
  • 14.5 oz Fire-Roasted Tomatoes
  • 2 packages Taco Seasoning
  • Canadian Steak Seasoning
  • Sour Cream
  • Shredded Mexican Cheese
  • Taco Sauce (Salsa)
  • Shredded Lettuce
  • Tortilla Chips
  • Chili Cheese Fritos

INSTRUCTIONS

In a deep skillet or pot, brown your Ground Chuck (don’t forget to drain the grease).  Season it lightly with Canadian Steak Seasoning. (This stuff is awesome! I found it at Sam’s Club. It doesn’t take a lot. If you’re not sure about it, you can season with salt and pepper, as you normally would).

Add your Taco Seasoning.  You can do it with the rest of the ingredients, but doing it with the meat, alone, would ensure that all of the meat gets seasoned.

Add your Dark Red Kidney Beans, Black Beans, Corn and Fire Roasted Tomatoes. You can slow-cook or bring to a low boil.

Take your Tortilla Chips and put a light amount in each bowl. Enough to cover the bottom, then PUNCH the chips for a quick crush (wash your hands, first!).

Put your Taco mix in the bowl. Be generous, you’ll have plenty. Add Lettuce, Cheese, Sour Cream and Taco Sauce. Sprinkle a little bit of Chili Cheese Fritos on top (yes, it makes a difference – especially for the kids).

…and that’s it!

Serve this up at parties and I guarantee you’ll have people constantly in and out of their seats for more (you thought I was going to say “the bathroom”, DIDN’T you?).

We eat it quite often at this house and I enjoy making it. I’m sure it will become a favorite with you and yours as well.

Quick funny story: One of my friends told me that her son only wanted to come along to visit my house because he wanted my Taco Salad. I gave her the recipe and she took it upon herself to substitute some (healthier) alternatives. He quickly voiced his disapproval too…

See you next week!

Let me know how it all works out and if you tried/suggest any modifications.
There is no perfect meal and everyone has a great idea!
Let me know if there’s a recipe you’d like for any meal I’ve posted on social media.
…and don’t forget to subscribe to my page and share it with others!

4 comments

Leave a Reply